Bio 3422 Course Materials

Lecture

Date

Day

Topic-(pptx files)

Readings

1 8/28/17 Mon Introduction
2 8/30/17 Wed Behaving without a “brain" I Preer;Kung; Pawn
  9/1/17 Fri Journal club Student TA Huntington
 

9/4/17

Mon Labor Day  
3 9/6/17 Wed Behaving without a "brain" II  
  9/8/17 Fri Journal club TA Discussion 2
4 9/11/17

Mon The worm I Brenner; Kaletta; Vashlishan
5 9/13/17 Wed The Worm II  
  9/15/17 Fri Journal club Student 1 JC1
6 9/18/17 Mon The Fruit Fly I: Biology, genetic principles, and screens Andrerson; Benzer; Hirsh; Sokolowski
7 9/20/17 Wed The Fruit Fly II  
  9/22/17 Fri Journal club Student 2 Toma et al.pdf
8 9/25/17 Mon The fruit fly III
9
9/27/17
Wed Courtship and mating behavior Dickson; Baker; Demir
  9/29/17 Fri Journal club Student 3 JC3 Rezaval et al.
10/2/17 Mon The fruit fly: Natural variations Mackay
 
10/4/17
Wed Review for exam 1
  10/6/17 Fri

Exam I (Lectures 1-9)

Exam 1 Key
11 10/9/17 Mon Sociogenetics: The honey bee Smith; Robinson; Whitfield
12 10/11/17 Wed Eugenics (Gar Allen)
  10/13/17 Fri Journal club Student 4 JC4 Weber et al.
  10/16/17 Mon

Fall Break – No class

 
13 10/18/17 Wed The mouse Bucan; Crabbe
  10/20/17 Fri Journal club Student 5 JC5 Baldwin et al.
14 10/23/17 Mon Sensory genetics - Chemosensation Larsson; Su et al
15 10/25/17 Wed Learning and memory I Kandel; Tang et al; Tully; Waddell
  10/27/17 Fri Journal club Student 6 JC6 Lin et al.
16 10/30/17 Mon Learning and memory II Kandel; Tang et al; Tully; Waddell
17 11/1/17 Wed
  11/3/17 Fri Journal club Student 7 JC7 Tronche et al.
18
11/6/15
Mon Anxiety and depression Burmeister; Risch; Lesch
19
11/8/17
Wed  
  11/10/17 Fri Journal club Student 8 JC8 Andersson et al.; JC8 Andersson supp
20
11/13/15
Mon Genetics of addiction (Sarah Hartz)
 
11/15/17
Wed

Exam II (lectures 10-20)

Practice Exam; Exam 2 key
 
11/17/17
Fri Journal club Student 9 JC9 Asai et al.
21
11/20/17
Mon Aggression of anti-social behaviors Popova
 
11/22/17
Wed Thanksgiving Break  
 
11/24/17
Fri Thanksgiving Break  
22
11/27/17
Mon Biological Clocks  
23
11/29/15
Wed Sleep  
 
12/1/17
Fri Journal club Student 10 JC10 Yamaguchi et al.
24 12/4/17 Mon Behavioral epigenetics and imprinting Miller
25 12/6/17 Wed Genetic tools for manipulating neurons and behavior  
  12/8/17 Fri Final Review

Natural Sciences Learning Center
© 2000 CDT Washington University; St. Louis; Missouri; USA

Contact Webmanager