Bio 3422 Course Materials

Lecture

Date

Day

Topic-(pptx files)

Readings

1 8/27/18 Mon Introduction
2 8/29/18 Wed Behaving without a “brain" I Preer; Kung
  8/31/18 Fri Journal club Student TA Huntington Paper
 

9/3/18

Mon Labor Day  
3 9/5/18 Wed Behaving without a "brain" II
  9/7/18 Fri Journal club TA/ First report due DG2 Fujiu
4 9/10/18

Mon The worm I Brenner; Kaletta
5 9/12/18 Wed The Worm II  
  9/14/18 Fri Journal club TA/First report due DG3 Garrison
6 9/17/18 Mon The Fruit Fly I: Biology, genetic principles, and screens
7 9/19/18 Wed The Fruit Fly II  
  9/21/18 Fri Journal club Student 1 DG4 Toma
  9/22/18 Exam 1 Fall 2017 Key
8 9/24/18 Mon The fruit fly III (Midterm 1 is due 9/25 at 5pm) Download Exam 1 here Exam 1 Key
9
9/26/18
Wed Courtship and mating behavior Baker; Dickson; DIS 38 33
  9/28/18 Fri Journal club Student 2 DG5 Zer-Krispil
10 10/1/18 Mon The fruit fly: Natural variations Mackay; Osborne; Bendesky
11 10/3/18 Wed Sociogenetics: The honey bee
 
10/5/18
Fri Journal Club Student 3 DG6 Noble
12 10/8/18 Mon Sociogenetics: The honey bee
13 10/10/18 Wed The mouse Crabbe; Bucan
  10/12/18 Fri Journal club Student 4 DG7 Baldwin
  10/15/18 Mon

Fall Break – No class

 
14 10/17/18 Wed Learning and memory I Kandel; Quinn; Waddell
  10/19/18 Fri Journal club Student 5 DG8 Weber
15 10/22/17 Mon Learning and Memory II Kandel; Quinn; Waddell
16 10/24/17 Wed Eugenics (Gar Allen)
  10/26/18 Fri Journal club Student 6 DG9 Andersson
17 10/29/18 Mon Learning and memory III
18
10/31/18
Wed Bird Song (Midterm 2 is due 11/1 5pm) Donaldson
  11/2/18 Fri Journal club Student 7 DG10 Zamurrad
19
11/5/18
Mon The genetics of mammalian social behavior
20
11/7/18
Wed Anxiety and depression
  11/9/17 Fri Journal club Student 8 DG11 Kim
21
11/12/18
Mon Genetics of addiction (Sarah Hartz)
22
11/14/18
Wed Williams Syndrome and human society (Joe Dougherty?)
 
11/16/18
Fri Journal club Student 9 DG12 vonHoldt
23
11/19/18
Mon Aggression and anti-social behaviors Popova
 
11/21/18
Wed Thanksgiving Break  
 
11/23/18
Fri Thanksgiving Break  
24
11/26/18
Mon Biological Clocks Erik Herzog?)  
25
11/28/18
Wed Sleep (Paul Shaw?)  
 
11/30/18
Fri Journal club Student 10 DG13 Yamaguchi
26 12/3/18 Mon Behavioral epigenetics and imprinting Miller
27 12/5/18 Wed Manipulating neurons and behavior (Midterm 3 is due 12/6 at 5pm)  
  12/7/17 Fri Open discussion

Natural Sciences Learning Center
© 2000 CDT Washington University; St. Louis; Missouri; USA

Contact Webmanager